The history of this library is directly related to the Bishop Andrea Lucchesi Palli, descendant of the noble family of Campofranco: a man of elevated culture with an authentic passion for knowledge. Over the years he had collected extraordinary books, documents, manuscripts and other precious objects. He was so firmly convinced that knowledge was the fundamental instrument for the spiritual and social development of a community that has wished to share his entire collection with his diocesans, the inhabitants of Agrigento. The library was built in great pomp: the infinite wooden bookcases and the wrought iron balustrades only hint at the extraordinary beauty of this 18th century shrine of wisdom. The library was donated to the citizens and opened to the public on October 16, 1765. It contained 10 thousand volumes, all belonging to the Bishop’s private collection, amongst which precious manuscripts, Arabian statutes and incunabula and statutes decorated with miniatures. After having survived several adverse events, the library now contains more than 60 thousand volumes, many of which have been donated or bequeathed. The marble statue of the Bishop watches over his precious and beloved collection in the main hall.
The Lucchesiana Library in open to visitors who will be admitted to a limited number upon booking. Access is via is a small door next to the main entrance of the MUDIA Museum.
We are waiting for you for a visit in total safety in compliance with the anti-Covid regulations in force.
Entrance to the Library is allowed by appointment by calling tel. +39092222217. Visitors will enter a limited number.
Entrance to the Library is free of charge.
Lucchesiana Library: contact for further information or to book visits at different times
Biblioteca Lucchesiana, Via Duomo, 94 – 92100 Agrigento
The following coordinates indicate the point of interest
N 37° 18' 48.96''
E 13° 34' 38.84''
37.313600 , 13.577453