The building dates from the 17th century and was donated to the Congregation of the Philippine Fathers. It has been recently restored to its former glory, maintaining the spacious halls spread out over three floors and looking out over an inner courtyard with a characteristic central well. Nowadays it houses a permanent collection of around 200 paintings by Sicilian authors mostly of the 19th century belonging to the municipal picture-gallery. One hall of this Museum are dedicated to Raffaele Politi, eclectic artist, architect, archaeologist and Italian art theorist who worked mainly in Agrigento and the province. The monumental Porta Atenea – nowadays called Porta di Ponte- which marks the access to the main street of the historic center is his work. Another hall are exclusively dedicated to the masterpieces of Francesco Lojacono (1838-1915), one of the most important Sicilian landscape artists of his time, whose works, together with those of his apprentices, constitute the “Sinatra Collection”. In his paintings Lojacono has captured natural scenery which still survive in the magical Garden of Kolymbethra today. Before leaving, don’t miss the ethno-anthropological section where you can admire miniature reproductions of traditional Sicilian quarters and old crafts by Roberto Vanadia (UNESCO heritage) and the magnificent Sicilian Marionettes created by Carmelo Guarneri.
The Municipal Art Gallery is located in the ex-Collegio dei Filippini (Museum of the Filippini).
It is a prestigious gallery which often hosts important cultural events.
Open from Monday to Saturday: 9.00 a.m. – 1.30 p.m. and 3.00 p.m. – 7.00 p.m.
Ticket Museum of Filippini: € 4 per person
Museo dei Filippini : contatti per informazioni e prenotazioni
Museo dei Filippini, Via Atenea, 272 / 274 – 92100 Agrigento
The following coordinates indicate the point of interest
N 37° 18' 39.71''
E 13° 34' 39.65''